Monday, December 19, 2011

Fossil Ridge swimmers finish second at Coaches Invitational

Even a bit shorthanded, Fossil Ridge High School's girls swimming team had a day to keep in mind Saturday at the Colorado Coaches Invitational.

Rhianna Williams won a pair of events, and the SaberCats finished next as a team at the impressive meet at Veterans Memorial Aquatic Center.

"We're keyed up to have done this well," Fossil Ridge coach Carolyn Fries said. "I think it's kind of a shock, but we are really looking forward to the rest of this time."

The SaberCats, who were without senior Emily Campbell because of an illness, scored 200 points to finish behind Fairview (260). They also finished ahead of state powers Cherry Creek and Heritage, which each scored 192 points to tie for third.

Fort Collins placed 17th overall and 15th in Class 5A with 41 points. Neither Poudre nor Rocky Mountain had swimmers qualify for finals.

Williams, a junior, showed she is one of the state's fastest swimmers, winning both the 50 and 100 freestyle events. She won the 50 free in 24.12 and the 100 in 52.36.

Williams transferred from Thompson Valley to Fossil Ridge prior to last season but wasn't allowed to swim in finals at the Coaches Invitational because of the state's transfer rule.

"It's really exciting and such a change from last year when I didn't get to swim finals," Williams said. "I didn't really know what to expect. It kind of changes from week to week. It is anyone's race anytime."

Williams placed fourth at state last season in both events. Winning at the season's biggest meet other than state only gives her confidence going forward.

"Now I am really excited for conference and state," she said. "I am really excited as a team. Our relays showed what we can do, especially when we have the right schedule and are tapered. We have such a great team this year, and it is so exciting."

Fossil Ridge had all three relays place in the finals. The 200 medley and 200 free relays took third place, while the 400 free took fourth in the meet's final event to secure the second-place showing.

Freshman Bailey Nero also had a solid showing in her first big high school meet. She took third place in the 100 butterfly (57.12) and was fourth in the 200 individual medley (2:11.46).

"I was kind of disappointed because I didn't get my best times," Nero said. "That's OK. I'm just really excited about our team."

Sammie Guay, the defending state champion in the 200 IM, placed eighth in 2:13.58. She also was sixth in the 100 breaststroke in 1:09.05. Riley Hoffman, a freshman, placed eighth in the 100 backstroke (1:01.38).

"I'm really excited to see our team bond and have fun together," Nero said. "I'm excited we're doing so well."

Fort Collins' best finish came from Tessa Thull, a sophomore who placed fifth in the 200 IM (2:11.70). Elise Mooney was seventh in the 100 breaststroke (1:09.28) and was followed by teammate Sieriah Higgins (1:09.31).

Swimming in the consolation finals, the Lambkins' 200 medley relay team placed 15th in 1:56.41.

Monday, August 29, 2011

ICC Test Team of the Year Sachin Tendulkar, Zaheer khan in 2011

Senior Indian cricketers Sachin Tendulkar and Zaheer Khan earned a place in the ICC Test Team of the Year, chosen by a specially appointed selection panel headed by West Indian legend Clive Lloyd on Friday. Four countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and Tendulkar made the side for the third year in a row, having appeared in the ICC World Test Team of the Year 2009 and 2010.

ICC Test Cricket - Sports Jagat
South African fast bowler Dale Steyn also featured in the World Test team for the fourth year running. He was a member of the ICC World Test Team of the Year 2008, 2009 and 2010. Steyn's fellow teammates -- Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis -- along with Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, and England duo of Graeme Swann and James Anderson all appeared in the side for the second year in a row. Former Sri Lanka skipper Sangakkara is named as captain of the team. "The selection of this year's Test team was a difficult one with so many worthy candidates available to fill just 12 places," said Chairman of the ICC Awards selection panel, Clive Lloyd in a media conference while announcing the short-lists for the ICC Awards 2011 scheduled to be held in London on September 12. "The team has a formidable line-up that bats well down the order and has bowlers with the ability and form to dismiss any opposition twice on any surface," he said. Lloyd said the process of selection was a difficult one and they had to weigh the credentials of all the players before zeroing in on the list. "The selection was a difficult process with so many outstanding performances available to look back on. All the top performers during the voting period were discussed at length and various combinations were considered. "While selecting the squad, the selectors didn't rely only on statistics only but took into account all other factors like the opposition, pitch conditions, match situation etc. But when you have only 12 places to fill from a big group of world-class players, there will always be a few who will miss out. "In the panel's expert opinion, it has selected the best team based on performances over the past 12 months," he said. Lloyd was joined on the panel by former South Africa spin bowler Paul Adams, former Pakistan batsman Zaheer Abbas, former New Zealand bowler-turned-commentator Danny Morrison and former England batsman Mike Gatting. The ICC Test Team of the Year: Alastair Cook (Eng), Hashim Amla (SA), Jonathan Trott (Eng), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Kumar Sangakkara (SL - wicketkeeper/captain), AB de Villiers (SA), Jacques Kallis (SA), Stuart Broad (Eng), Graeme Swann (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), James Anderson (Eng), Zaheer Khan (Ind) (12th man).

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Somdev Dewarman down in ATP Rankings

India's singles tennis star Somdev Devvarman has dropped three places to 68 in the ATP rankings.

Somdev, who touched a career-best 63rd earlier this month, took a break from the circuit after Wimbledon and since then losing points.

In the ATP doubles ranking, there was no change in the rankings of Mahesh Bhupathi (5), Leander Paes (8) and Rohan Bopanna (10).

The pair of Paes and Bhupathi is at number four in the team ranking, while Bopanna and Aisam-ul-haq Qureshi remained at number six.

In the WTA ranking, Sania Mirza slid to 64th from 63rd in singles, but maintained her 11th position in the doubles.

Her team ranking with Russian Elena Vesnina is also intact at number two in race to year-end championship.

Sania-Elena pair have 4506 points in the list, headed by Kveta Peschke and Katarina Srebotnik, who have 6865 points.

The top-four pairs compete in the prestigious year-end championship.